When dreams and reality collide

“To accomplish great things, we must not only act, but also dream; not only plan, but also believe.” -Anatole France

I don’t even know how to start this story but I just want to share it so I’m just gonna do that. Share it.

Growing up, I had nothing.

My family was one of those who considered it a big deal whenever we have money to eat at Jollibee.

A family wherein the main income was not from my mother nor my father because back then, they were young (they had me when they were both 17) and unemployed.

Food, school allowance, place to stay and everything else depended on what our relatives could give us.

It was tough.

At school, I skip lunch most of the time. On those times that I didn’t, it was because of my friend Sheila who was generous enough to share her school allowance with me.

I was one of those students who wore his leather shoes with his PE uniform. I was humiliated. But I guess that’s better than going barefoot.

That student who frequently missed out on the fun field trips? Yep. That’s me. We can’t afford it.

It was heartbreaking.

During typhoons, our house would creak and sway with the strong wind. It was too old that you don’t feel any safer inside than when you are outside.

A house situated in the informal settlers’ area where the most familiar sound comes from your neighbors. They are either fighting or chatting about their everyday lives.

It was crazy.

While all these tough, heartbreaking and crazy times were happening, I was doing one thing and only one thing. I was dreaming.

I was dreaming about the house I’d buy for my family when I save enough money to do so.

All the food I would eat when I don’t have to have a special reason anymore to eat at a fast food chain.

The trips and vacations I would take to compensate for all those that I’ve missed.

I would seriously stare at the roof (Yes, roof. We don’t have a ceiling.) for hours just dreaming.

And on those moments when times get too tough, I escape.

How? I watch UAAP games. I look forward to those 3 days. Wednesday/Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. On those days, regardless of how much unbearable my problems seem to be, I forget. I escape.

Remember that time I wrote “Why My World Revolves Around the UAAP?” That is exactly why.

My struggles never end. But so does my dreaming. Different hardships, different dreams.

Did you know that everything I wrote prior to this one, I did inside an internet shop? No? Now you do.

Not anymore. Thanks to you. Yes. You. The person reading this.

Because of your endless retweets, favorites, and countless visits on my blog, I was noticed by people who didn’t hesitate to give me breaks.

I always thought that the dream job must include a high pay. Because of Benggadora, I learned that it should only include two things. One, satisfying your passion. And two, changing people’s lives. My passion lies in sports and the lives I change are yours. When you smile, laugh or guffaw while reading my commentaries, it is, for me, a job well done.

And today marks another dream come true for me. The biggest, perhaps.

I will be flying to Thailand with the Philippine Women’s Volleyball Team to cover the Asian Volleyball Championships.

I know. You can name more than a dozen people who deserve the job more than I do. But when an opportunity like this knocks on your door, you don’t tell it to knock someplace else. You let it in! And you make the most of it. You enjoy every single moment like it’s the best thing that has ever happened to your life.

By far, this is the best thing that’s ever happened to mine. And again, all thanks to you.

So, right now, you might be reading this while inside an internet shop dreading the “Time ka na!” call from the counter, craving for something you can’t afford like cronuts or simply escaping reality called life. Whatever the situation is, just keep dreaming. Hold on to it! Never mind people saying it is impossible.

Never let the circumstances hinder you from achieving. Instead, use it to inspire you to keep pushing. To keep fighting. Your dreams are just waiting around the corner. All you have to do is cross that busy road.

There will be hundreds of people doubting your abilities. But it only takes one to prove them all wrong. Your self.

Salamat, baks! Maraming, maraming salamat! šŸ™‚

8 responses to “When dreams and reality collide

  1. You are truly an inspiration baks!! Continue chasing your dreams and touch the lives of everyone sorrounding you.. I may not know you personally but I think you are one of the most kindhearted volleyball enthusiast out there.. I remember when I met you personally, ikaw pa lumapit sakin sabi mo ikaw yung katweet ko di ba? ako nga pala si Bengga, and I was on fantard mode just like seeing the tigresses.. Ngayon nga ang sabi ko suplado na si Bengga.. then i realized hndi naman cguro marami lang sya na talagang fans.. and im happy for you!! God bless you baks!! Salamat sa mga ngiting idinudulot mo everytime na magtweet ka about something at salamat sa mga sensible na blogs mo like this!! Again God bless you!!

  2. You are such a natural… the way you deliver and construct your writings and stuff really makes your readers feel the sincerity of its context and moreover very informative. I congratulate you more for being you than the rewards you have reap at the moment! You deserve it all and more! Go Pinas!!!

  3. Congrats.You are there – your dreams and success are in your hands.Go for more and stay humble, this is just the beginning.

  4. congratulations! i have been following your tweets and blogs at aaminin ko, i admire your wit. thank you! this article is an inspiration.

  5. true i can name a dozen people to cover the game but the opportunity belongs to you..why? because it was meant for you and for you alone. live your dream and contine to be an inspiration to others especially for those who seem to loss their faith in their dreams.

  6. Your blog is AWESOME. You deserve the all the success you have right now. I always take time to read all your tweets bengga bec. whenever I’m not in the mood, basahin ko lang tweets mo napapangiti na’ko. Thank you for that. I’m sure di lang ako napapaligaya mo sa tweets mo. Madami kaming inaantabayanan mga sasabihin mo. I know you dont know me personally pero I just really wanna thank you for the smiles you brought me. Di nlng ako fan ng Tigresses kundi fan mo na din ako. Looking forward to that moment na ma-meet ko ang THE BENGGADORA. šŸ™‚ God bless you & Good luck sa Thailand. šŸ˜€ Sabi nga ni Anne Curtis sa concert nya, DREAMS DO COME TRUE! šŸ™‚ UST & the whole volleyball community are so blessed to have you. ā¤

Leave a Reply

